Unearthed and Untold: The Path to Pet Sematary Review

uneartheduntoldI grew up in the 80s/90s, so I have a fondness for all horror movies during those decades. As a young kid, many Friday nights were spent at the video store, debating over which VHS tape to rent based on it’s cover.

I think I first rented Pet Sematary when I was about eleven or twelve. Actually, it was my best friend’s older brother who rented it and we snuck down to the living room in the middle of the night to watch it at a sleepover. We were supposed to be watching something that was PG or PG-13, not something that was a horror movie.

We were so scared, but at the same time there was something about this movie that made me fall in love with it. It became our go to movie to quote from ( to this day, I still talk about Thanksgiving for cats), and it didn’t help that we lived in a neighborhood that was surrounded by historical Indian sites. You could still find arrowheads down by the creek if you dug deep enough.

When I heard that there was going to be a documentary based on this film, I was so excited and I eagerly rented the film through Itunes on the Friday it came out.

This film was done with such love for the movie and is filled with so many interviews and behind the scenes tidbits that it kept my interest for it’s 75 minutes of running time. I was transformed back into the that kid who loved being frightened while a tape hummed in the VCR.

As a writer and lover of all things horror, it was so interesting to hear how the ideas for the story became the story and then became a movie.

I really enjoyed hearing about some of the behind the scenes info, including how the pet cemetery was made, and what is still there today. The interviews with the makeup artists made me realize how much time and effort went into creating Zelda, the scariest character of my movie in my opinion. There was even a fascinating part in which they explained the infamous Gage and the truck scene and the tricks they used to film it.

The cast interviews were very detailed, and included pretty much the entire cast. It was really cool to see all the kids grown up. Even though Fred Gwynne passed away, the other cast members seemed to keep his spirit alive with their stories and anecdotes.

The interviews with the local people of Maine were also really interesting, and it shows how much Maine was it’s own character in Pet Sematary.

If you are a Pet Sematary fan, I really recommend this film and I look forward to it being released on DVD too. I can’t wait to watch Pet Sematary again and look for all the little details that I picked up from the documentary. I’m so glad that John Campopiano and Justin White made this, and can’t wait to see what other films they make.  You can currently rent or buy the film on Itunes and Amazon and there will be a DVD release soon.

You can watch the trailer here:

This entry was posted in horror reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

